Malaysians Require ETIAS Visa From Late 2022

Malaysians Require ETIAS To Visit Europe From Late 2022

Starting from late 2022, ETIAS visa will be required for every Malaysians planning to travel to any country in the Schengen area.

Starting late 2022, Malaysians will need to apply for ETIAS visa to visit Schengen area in Europe.

What is ETIAS?

ETIAS is short for European Travel Information and Authorization System. The European Union created the program to improve screening and strengthen border control.

Currently Malaysians enjoy visa-free access for stays up to 90 days. From late 2022 onwards, Malaysians will need this electronic visa for travel to any of the twenty-six Schengen countries.

The ETIAS is a multiple entry travel authorization. Malaysians are permitted short stays of up to 90 days within every 180-day period. The approval is valid for three years from the date of approval or until your passport expires.

How to apply?

Here are the requirements:

  • Valid Malaysian passport with at least three months validity remaining from the date of arrival.
  • A biometric passport that is machine readable
  • Email address to receive the approval
  • Credit or debit card for payment

The approved ETIAS is electronically linked to your passport. It is advisable to print a copy to keep with your passport during your stay in Europe.

How much does it cost?

The cost will be €7 per passport. However, the following visitors are excepted from paying the fee:

  • Travelers below 18 years or over the age of 60
  • Family members of EU citizens
  • Students or research traveling for academic purpose.

Each traveler including infants are required to present a valid ETIAS before entering the Schengen area.


Which country requires ETIAS visa?

Malaysians planning to enter any of the twenty-six countries and four microstates in the Schengen area will need to apply for the travel authorization.

List of countries that require ETIAS visa

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Vatican City

ETIAS not required

  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus – In process of joining Schengen.
  • Ireland
  • Romania
  • United Kingdom

When do I start applying?

The new regulation will start from late 2022 onwards. The authorization needs to be applied at least three days before entry to the Schengen area to allow sufficient processing time.

In some cases, additional information may be requested before approval. It is recommended to print out a copy of the approval and have it ready for immigration.

Travelers are reminded that approval does not guarantee entry to Schengen countries. The final decision will be made by the immigration officials at the border.

Supporting documents may be required to guarantee entry including

  • Sufficient funds to cover your stay in the Schengen area
  • Travel insurance with medical cover
  • Return or onward flight ticket

We will continue to update this page when we have more information.

Default image
Andy Thong

Contiki Ambassador, a writer and video blogger with a passion for travel. He hopes to inspire you to fill your travels with culture, color and creativity.

Articles: 3

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.